Governor Mark Dayton recently sent a letter to President Donald Trump requesting a presidential disaster declaration in Minnesota communities impacted by severe storms and flooding between June 15 and July 12, 2018. 

In the letter, Gov. Dayton describes damage across the state from heavy rainfall, tornadoes, straight-line winds, violent thunderstorms, and widespread flooding. In response to the storms, the governor declared a peace time state of emergency in 36 counties and one tribal nation, and personally visited storm-damaged communities across the state.

“The early summer of 2018 was exceptionally stormy and rainy in Minnesota,” Dayton wrote. “Parts of the state received as much as 400 percent of normal rainfall during that period. The system repeatedly generated severe storms every 24 to 72 hours that produced deluge rains, strong winds, tornadoes, and flooding. Nationally, meteorologists referred to the hot, humid, high pressure ridge that kept this pattern in place over Minnesota for nearly a month as a ‘ring of fire.’”

 Gov. Dayton is requesting federal assistance to help cover reimbursement for damage expenses in the counties of Aitkin, Beltrami, Blue Earth, Brown, Carlton, Cass, Clearwater, Cottonwood, Faribault, Itasca, Jackson, Kanabec, Koochiching, Lake, Lyon, Martin, Murray, Nicollet, Nobles, Pine, Pipestone, Polk, Redwood, Renville, Rock, St. Louis, Sibley, and Watonwan, and the tribal governments of the Leech Lake Band of Ojibwe, Red Lake Nation, and White Earth Nation.