Governor Mark Dayton signed Emergency Executive Order 18-11 July 5, proclaiming a State of Peacetime Emergency in numerous communities that have been impacted by significant torrential rains, flash flooding, high winds and tornadoes.

These severe summer storms, which began June 9, 2018, have caused significant flooding and damage to public infrastructure and property in 36 Minnesota counties and one Tribal Nation.

Included in the governor’s executive order are: Aitkin, Becker, Beltrami, Blue Earth, Brown, Carlton, Cass, Clearwater, Cottonwood, Faribault, Fillmore, Freeborn, Jackson, Kittson, Lake, Lyon, Mahnomen, Martin, Mille Lacs, Mower, Murray, Nicollet, Nobles, Pine, Pipestone, Polk, Red Lake, Redwood, Renville, Rock, Sibley, Stearns, Stevens, St. Louis, Waseca, and Watonwan counties, and the Red Lake Nation.

 In addition to declaring a state of peacetime emergency in these counties and Tribal Nation, the governor’s order directs the Minnesota Department of Public Safety, Division of Homeland Security and Emergency Management, along with all other state agencies, to continue providing assistance and support to affected communities.