Wabasso tops KMS to reach Section 3A title game

A four-run third inning was all the support starter Nick Altermatt would need as the Wabasso Rabbits cruised into the Section 3A title game with a 5-0 win over KMS Saturday afternoon in Milroy.

The Rabbits (13-4) - winners of 11-of-12 - will now await the winner of the KMS/LQPV match-up and will play on Thursday at 5 p.m. needing to win just one game to advance on to State.

Saturday against a good KMS (19-3) squad, the Rabbits took control in the third inning on a scoreless game. With one out, Cooper Taylor drew a walk and would steal second. Tony Franta followed with a single to put runners on first and third and a walk to Altermatt would load the bases. Jacob Plaetz would respond with a single and Kyle Jacobson doubled to account for four runs and a nice cushion for Altermatt.

From there, the Rabbit ace would go on to pitch 6 2/3 innings, allowing just five hits and striking out 10 to earn the win. Jacobson finished off the game with a strikeout in relief.

Plaetz would finish 2-for-3 with a double and three RBIs and Jacobson was 2-for-3 with two RBIs. Taylor added a single and drew three walks.

Brandon Rasmussen took the loss for the Saints, allowing five earned runs on nine hits, striking out two and walking three.

The Rabbits had reached the finals with a 5-2 win over LQPV Wednesday night. A two-run double from Plaetz in the fifth helped give Altermatt some breathing room and the Rabbits would hold on from there for the win.

Altermatt came on in relief and would stymie the Eagle batters striking out 12-of-16 batters he faced and allowing no runs on just two hits in 4 2/3 innings. Jacobson got the start, going 2 1/3 and allowing two earned runs on two hits, walking three and striking out one.

Plaetz was 2-for-3 with a double and two RBIs, Altermatt was 2-for-3 with an RBI and Will Carlson went 2-for-3. Wyatt Halvorson took the loss for the Eagles.

Section 3A Playoffs

Wabasso 5,  KMS 0