Wabasso Public School is proud to have one of its faculty nominated for 2018 Minnesota teacher of the year.

Cody Kittelson, a science teacher at Wabasso, is among a field of 167 candidates who is eligible for the honor. The number of candidates this year is the third most in the 54-year history of the award and the most since 1981.

The Minnesota teacher of the year program, now in its 54th year, is the oldest and most prestigious recognition program in Minnesota to honor excellence in education.

A selection committee representing Minnesota leaders in education, business and government chooses the Minnesota teacher of the year from individuals who are nominated and who then choose to become a candidate.

The program chooses one teacher to represent Minnesota’s thousands of excellent educators. The 2018 Minnesota teacher of the year will be announced May 6, at the Radisson Blu Mall of America in Bloomington.

Over the coming weeks, a 25-member panel of community leaders will name a group of semifinalists and finalists.