Area state, federal, city, and school board candidates win seats in Tuesday’s election, with many incumbents reelected.

Despite a major shake-up in the Minnesota legislature as a result of Tuesday’s election, as Democrats took back the majority in the Senate and the House after a two-year hiatus, things did not change in the area.
Four incumbents who represent all of the majority of Redwood County were up for re-election, and all four retained those posts when the ballots were cast.
Gary Dahms, who was elected two years ago as the District 21 Senator, had to run again this election cycle as the senate seat where he resided changed enough to require a new election. In the end, Dahms won the new Senate District 16 seat, with 20,917 votes defeating challenger Ted Suss, who received 18,495 votes in the district.
In the new House District 16A race, incumbent legislator Chris Swedzinski faced challenger Al Kruse and won with 10,982 votes compared to 8,361 votes for Kruse.
Paul Torkelson was again  elected to represent the eastern half of Redwood County and a small portion of Renville County in 16B, as he defeated challengers James Kanne and Jerry Pagel. Torkelson re-ceived 11,239 votes, while Kanne received 6,467. Pagel received 2,303 votes.
A small portion of the southwesternmost portion of the state is being represented by Senate District 22, which was won by Bill Weber who received 19,547 votes, while challenger Alan Oberloh received 17,455. Rod Hamil-ton is going to represent that southern area of the county, as he received 10,165 votes with challenger Cheryl Avenel-Navara receiving 6,745 votes.
Collin Peterson was elected to the Seventh District seat with 192,565 votes compared to 111,354 for closest challenger Lee Byberg.

Voters knew there would be new members elected to the Redwood Area Board of Education after ballots were cast. What wasn’t known was just how many new faces there were going to be.
With one incumbent and six prospective members running for three positions, voters cast their ballot for two new members to the board. With 1,948 votes, current member Jim Buckley was again elected to the school board, with Wayne Junker, 1,837 votes, and John Salmon, 1,420 votes, being the other two candidates elected.
Others receiving votes included Greg Deinken, 1,197 votes, Clark Grannes, 1,114 votes, Erica Plaetz, 1,087 votes and Matt Smith, 840 votes. There were also 32 write-in votes cast.
The current boards of education is scheduled to canvass the election results tomorrow morning, which is when the election results become official.
The new electees take over as members of the school board starting in January.

Mike Salmon was elected to serve another four-year term on the Redwood Falls city council Tuesday, as he defeated challenger Pat Flahaven  by a vote count of 409 to 324.
Two other city council elections were also held in Redwood Falls wards, with Corey Theis, who currently represents Ward 1 being re-elected with 635 votes. He ran unopposed.
John Buckley, who is the at-large member of the city council also ran unopposed and received 2017 votes in the city election.